April Notes

Here we are at the end of April already.  I have successfully managed 1/3 of the year….4 out of a possible 12.

I am afraid that I have not focused much on the technical ends of taking pictures.  It has been a full month but did not get much chance to “get around” so I was limited both in true opportunities and in time to concentrate on the craft itself.

I did discover about myself that I tend to feel the need to outdo myself from the day before.  I set the bar high and expect to stay there.  Hence, I end up trying to get the “perfect” shot.

I also learned that I oft spend time looking simply at the artistry of an image and forget to capture a story or have something to say by saying through the snap of a camera.  I realized this after the Phoenix Coyote game earlier this week.  I captured the two teams shaking hands at the end of Round 1 of the playoffs.  It seemed like a special though but I also noticed several around me snapping photos with their point-and-shoots or the camera phones.  These people would be getting, more or less, the same vantage point and likely a picture that looks VERY much like mine.  The difference? This one is mine.  It captures the memory…a visual trigger that I was there and had a great time.  I must be willing to  not just look for a unique masterpiece, but to at least capture a portion of a day.  With time, the image will be more dynamic and dramatic but I must “capture that moment” first.

Perhaps as may comes along, I can focus on new techniques or creative angles.  But for right now, I just need to snap the shutter.

Leave a Reply

