May 18, 2010 – Beneath the Old Rugged Cross

May 18, 2010

Sorry. I had this ready last night but didn’t actually publish it until today. Must have been a brain freeze!

I never know what to think of this building. I pass it every day on way home from work and still I am not sure.  It is abandoned and in ruins.  There is no sign of life nor has there been that I can recall.  And yet there is a prominent cross front and center….a cross that seems to be the most vibrant part of the weathered decay.  I never know whether to rejoice that this edifice once housed a church of some sort and that victory lives on – as does the cross – or whether to feel sorrow for a church long forgotten.  There does not seem at all that the cross is acting as a symbol of rebirth among the rubble for clearly there is no emergence of vitality.  And yet, this is just the place to display the symbol of the forgiveness…that in our sinful lives, God still reigns and has claimed victory.

I don’t know.  Maybe, too,on Sunday mornings, there is a small gathering that uses this place to gather at the foot of the cross.  But for me, I choose to simply let it remind me to rejoice His hope and promise in a crumbling world.

ON an other note to self, pay attention to composition.  The lines and focus of the main points of interest lead the eye away, out of the picture.  I need to frame the shots better.

Sony DSLR-A100 | f5.6 | 1/320 | ISO100

3 Responses to “May 18, 2010 – Beneath the Old Rugged Cross”

  1. Love this ian.

  2. Amazing symbolism. You have a good eye.

  3. Kimberly Hill Says:

    Agreed you do have an amazing eye. I guess I’m just gonna have to pay a little bit more attention to my surroundings.

Leave a Reply

