June 23, 2010 – Happy Birthday, Dad!

June 23, 2010

Today is my father’s birthday (Happy Birthday, Dad!).  Instead of representing his birthday simply with birthday candles and cake, it seemed more fitting to celebrate the occasion by shooting (no pun intended) a picture of this tank…not so much as to represent his military career but because this tank which still sits on my shelf in our office, was one of several gifts he brought back to me from his 6 month tour of duty in Cyprus.  I was about 10 years or so at the time ( can’t remember…I was too excited). The mechanism to shoot the two ammo is long past its life and the ammo long forgot, but the memory is still in tact.

Sony DSLR-A100 | f5.6 | 1/25 | ISO100

4 Responses to “June 23, 2010 – Happy Birthday, Dad!”

  1. My father’s birthday was June 23 too! He would have been 79.

    • azsalsman Says:

      My dad would have been 79 too if he were born earlier. One day, Lord willing, he will be. Instead he turns 29…er 39…okay, he is retired. Come to think of it, Tammy, wasn’t your brothers’ father’s birthday on June 23 as well?

    • Stan/Dad Says:

      I had 95 members of the Nova Scotia International Tattoo Choir sing Happy Birthday to me. When I got home a phone message waited for me, my granddaughter sang Happy Birthday as well over the phone. Wow! she’s good.

  2. Ken Salsman Says:

    I totally remember that tank! I thought the tank might have been in honour of the G20 which is taking place in our city this weekend…the tanks are due to roll in any time. In fact, several of us thought the rumbling we felt yesterday was in fact the entrance of the tanks, rather than the 5.0 earthquake that was the actual cause of the shaking sensations!

Leave a Reply

