July 17, 2010 – An Hug to Remember

July 17, 2010

I did not mean, really, to post two close up faces consecutive days like this but in this case I could not help it…not so much because of the photo itself but because of the story that goes with it.

You see, as I and another lady were led on a walking tour of Malanda*, just outside Bulembu, there were these children working … or playing … or both. This little girl was the youngest (about 3 years old I would guess). I bent down to talk to her and complimented her on her nice jacket and somehow that inspired her to lift up her jacket to show off each of the 5 t-shirts – and belly button – she had on underneath.

Here is where this gets interesting. The tour guide continued to explain how the houses are constructed when suddenly I felt this little girl at my feet and as I looked down, she was giving me the biggest little hug that I have had for a while. She, of course, was only tall enough to reach my knees abd her head was snuggly nestled in my lap but she meant every affection she had.

A few moments later after we secured a little bonding time, she grabbed my and to lead me somewhere to do something (neither of which I could figure out) and then she was done. But for about five minutes, we were best friends – and she never uttered a single word.

Sony DSLR-A100 | f8.0 | 1/80 | ISO80

*Note: Malanda is a “village” of homesteads that make up Swaziland and a stark contrast to the transformation that is occurring in Bulembu itself.

2 Responses to “July 17, 2010 – An Hug to Remember”

  1. Stan/dad Says:

    Ian your stories take me back when I was in Uganda some years ago. It can be a humbling experience.

  2. John Schaffer Says:

    Nice photo, great clip!

Leave a Reply

