July 21, 2010 – Nearer my God to Thee

July 21, 2010

I was doing some work just across the road from here when these children arrived from a school in a neighboring town for “sports day”. What first surprised me was how quiet and patient they were while they waited for their teacher to arrive. They were not running around, they were not loud, they were just sitting on the ground or standing waiting. The second they that delightfully intrigued me was that all of a sudden they broke out in song with the most beautiful voices of a choir. But it was not just that they were singing beautifully, it was what they were singing. I had a hard time recognizing the seemingly familiar tunes (they were singing is Seswhati – the native tongue of Swaziland) but I did recognize that they were hymns…most noticeably “Nearer my god to Thee”). I tell you, I felt blessed to have a free ticket and a front row seat to this choral outburst.

Sony DSLR-A100 | f5.6 | 1/125 | ISO100

3 Responses to “July 21, 2010 – Nearer my God to Thee”

  1. Ann/Mum Says:

    How beautiful is the sound of an African choir!!!! They love to sing and praise!!!!

  2. Lynn Fischer Says:

    That’s a great song to have in my head all day. Thanks Ian.

  3. those are the moments in life that are true gifts. they will remain with you forever!

Leave a Reply

