August Notes

It is hard to believe that this month has come to an end.  It certainly presented me with great challenges.

First, I kind of feel bad for having to miss a few days due to being in the hospital.  Technically, it does break a perfect run for the year but considering the circumstances, I can accept the absence and still hold my head up high feeling successful in the year’s endeavor.  I do not plan on going back to fill in the spot.  That thought fills like it denies the spontaneity that is part of photo of the day.

By this time of the year, I feel that somewhere along the way, the playfulness has transformed into work – a fulfillment of an obligation instead of a creative challenge.  It does still work.  Perhaps I have grown in my understanding of photography to a level that I no longer have to think about the things I had to be consciously think about in January.  I need to revisit my ultimate go: what do I want to achieve through this project and with the photography skills I have learned.  There are certain things that I need to explore and experiment with and some of those areas require that I step beyond myself – my shynesses, my insecurities, my comforts.  Hmmmmm.

To those who regularly or semi-regularly check in to this blog….thank you.  It means a lot.

2 Responses to “August Notes”

  1. Keep pressing on, son. There is a higher goal ahead.

  2. Keep them coming Ian. I check them each day and am learning to be observant in my own photography.

Leave a Reply

