September Notes

First, I have to toot my own horn for a moment:

I won FIRST prize in the “People” category in the “Amateur” division.  The photo contest was the McDowell Sonoran Conservancy Photo Contest. Don’t know what the competition was but I entered and I won.  The prize was just a certification but I got chosen.  Thanks, Roy Adams, for being my subject.  What is more is that he image that won was really my May 1 photo-of-the-day! (http://wp.me/pKTHI-9s)

May 1, 2010


Today’s landmark is marked by the end of the 10th month and 273 days. Only 92 days and photos to go! Other than the few days missed in the hospital, I cannot believe the numbers. Certainly days and periods have provided challenges or seemed more like work than a creative challenge. But that is when you learn the most!

This month saw me working a little more with my flash. It can be mounted but most often I used it’s wireless aspect so I don’t have the “deer in the headlights” highlights and start shadows directly behind. Often, I found I was in a small space with that flash and fund that the light could bounce on all the walls like a photographers “softbox” reducing the harsh, direct light.

I am hoping the weather here in Phoenix will cool off a bit soon (it is unseasonably hot) and I can get out more to expand some photography options.

Bring it on, October!

One Response to “September Notes”

  1. Congratulations, son, I always knew you had a great eye for seeing interesting things!
    Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

