October Notes

Well 10 down, 2 to go. That is 365 less 61 days.  That makes 304 days of new and, somewhat, fresh views of the world as seen through a camera lens. Okay that includes the 4 or 5 days lost in the hospital. 10 months making this the 10th end-of-the-month update note.

It has reached a point that much of the challenge is simply meeting the challenge itself and less of creating the artistry of the photo….but then that is often when we learn the most or our skills are called into account.

One thing I have learned this month came from someone’s comment – and I can’t remember who said it or where – but he/she indicated that I find different perspective to everyday objects.  I began to realize that that is true and one aspect of photography that I enjoy.  There are so many people shooting so many different subjects that it can be difficult to find a niche. On October 10 – Porcelain Angel, I took a photography of a porcelain sculpture that was part of an exhibit at our church.  I thought of taking it from the top down.  Suddenly there seemed to me an intimacy with the same piece – a new perspective and appreciation for a piece of art that did not previously appeal to me at all.

I have a few ideas for the next month but we will see.

Leave a Reply

