November 4, 2010 – Lesson Learned

November 4, 2010I learned a lesson today.  I was out for a walk at lunchtime today with my camera when I came across these protesters. I had actually heard them chanting their cause long before I visually spotted them but it was enough to pique my curiosity.  So, unlike me, I wandered up to check out what the strike or protest was all about and take my daily photo of an event of the day.

After a couple snaps, the union leader (at least, that is who I assume that he is) and his two henchmen, suddenly approached me and, in a rather rude and curt manner, told me to point my camera in the other direction.

Their big concern was protection of their peeps as some feel uncomfortable having their pictures captured in this manner.  Fair enough.  I had not taken that into consideration – despite of my non-commercial intentions.  I will need to remember next to ask permission next time. I figure this, though, is a good compromise as it does not identify the individuals involved.  [Sigh] Such is the life of a photojournalist trying to tell a story yet remembering legalities, protocol and still communicating the facts with an emotional attraction.

It turns out they were making a statement about Adobe Drywallers not paying the going rate for their trade.

I then went on to complete my walk and take in a breath of fresh air.

One Response to “November 4, 2010 – Lesson Learned”

  1. A good lesson learned. Always ask for permission to take a picture, especially an “official” one.

Leave a Reply

